While the BJP-led alliance managed to retain Assam by bagging 75 seats in the Assam Assembly elections, the saffron party fared poorly in Darrang district.

Out of the four assembly seats in the Darrang district, the ruling BJP managed to grab only one seat.

Congress bagged the Mangaldai seat while the lost the Dalgaon seat, which was held by the party for the last three consecutive terms.

Congress candidate and former minister Basanta Das grabbed the Managaldai seat defeating incumbent BJP MLA Gurujyoti Das by a margin of 26,710 votes.

As per the ECI data, Basanta Das got 1, 11,004 votes while Gurujyoti Das managed to get 84, 294 votes.

This is the third victory of Basanta Das in the SC reserved seat on a Congress ticket since 2001.

Das expressed his gratefulness to the peoples Mangaldai for electing him to serve them once again.

“Working for the holistic development of the people of my constituency is my top priority,” Das told Northeast Now.

In Dalgaon, incumbent Congress MLA Ilias Ali lost to AIUDF candidate Majibur Rahman by a huge margin of 55, 365 votes.

Rahman secured a total of 1, 17, 914 votes against 62,549 of Ali.

The newly-elected MLA, Rahman who had suffered defeats for the last three times in a row hinted at giving top priority to the all-around development of Dalgaon.

On the other hand,   BJP and BPF have managed to retain Sipajhar and Kalaigaon seats of the district respectively.

BJP’s Paramanada Rajbongshi, a former president of Asom Sahitya Sabha, who had jumped ship from AGP and joined the saffron party ahead of the election, managed to grab the Sipajhar seat.

Rajbongshi defeated his nearest rival Congress candidate Kuldeep Baruah by a narrow margin of 6,889 votes.

A total of 74, 203 votes were polled in favour of Rajbongshi against 67, 314 for Congress candidate Baruah.

BPF retained the Kalaigaon seat as its candidate Durga Das Boro beat the BJP candidate by a margin of 7,222 votes.

BPF candidate Boro who also had a last-hour jump to BPF from Congress bagged 60, 604 votes against 53, 382 votes captured by BJP candidate Madhuram Deka.

Two sitting MLAs–Binanda Kumar Saikia of BJP and BPF’s Maheswar Boro were denied tickets from Sipajhar and Kalaigaon respectively by their parties.

Mayukh Goswami

Mayukh Goswami is Northeast Now Correspondent in Mangaldai. He can be reached at: mayukh.mld@gmail.com