Rana Goswami and Hitendra Nath Goswami.

In Jorhat, it’s going to be Goswami versus Goswami for the fourth consecutive terms.

Both the All India Congress Committee (AICC) secretary and two-time Jorhat MLA Rana Goswami and sitting BJP MLA and Assam Legislative Assembly Speaker Hitendra Nath Goswami filed their nominations for the prestigious seat, as the stage is set for the Battle Royale in the constituency.

Rana Goswami, addressing the people after coming out from the centre said that anybody who wanted to cook with LPG in the future should vote the BJP out of power.

“Skyrocketing prices of essentials, selling off of public sector enterprises one after the other and a slew of false promises regarding employment prior to the 2014 Lok Sabha and 2016 Assembly polls has severely damaged the credibility of the ruling party which was full of liars, ” he said.

He sought the people’s support so that he could right many wrongs done in the past five years.

Hiten Goswami, who had in 1991, 1996 and 2001 fought and won the Jorhat seat on an AGP ticket joined the BJP in 2014 being disenchanted by the AGP leadership which was unable to field fresh faces and infuse new blood into the party.

The ALA speaker had contested against Rana Goswami in 2006 and lost, with the Congress at the height of its power in the state for the second term.

He again lost to Rana Goswami in the 2011 polls but riding on the BJP wave wrested the seat from Rana in the 2016 Assembly polls.

Hiten Goswami addressing the people on Monday said that he had successfully completed the first phase of the Brahmaputra water supply project, a 2016 pre-poll promise to the people.

He said that he had brightened the wave of development to Jorhat.

The incumbent Jorhat legislator further said that the Centre’s Infrastructure Development Fund had enabled him to develop roads, drains and other infrastructure in a big way and would complete all the ongoing projects and create other much-needed infrastructure like rail over bridges for the benefit of the people if voted back to power.

The other three candidates who filed nominations on Monday were Ranjit Baruah, independent, for Jorhat seat, Pallabi Das, daughter-in-law of three times former Congress MLA of Teok, Membor Gogoi (late) and Bani Hazarika of the Congress for the Dergaon Legislative Assembly.

Hazarika, a resident of Panichokuwa in Dergaon constituency and a businessman is also known for his philanthropy.

Smita Bhattacharyya

Smita Bhattacharyya is Northeast Now Correspondent in Jorhat. She can be reached at: triptyaddy@gmail.com