BJP candidate and three-time Dibrugarh MLA Prasanta Phukan filed nomination papers for the fourth time in Dibrugarh constituency on Monday.

“I have been contesting from Dibrugarh seat since 2006. If I am a good watchman of Dibrugarh then people will again vote me to power. I am sure that with a huge margin I will retain the Dibrugarh seat for the fourth time,” Phukan told reporters.

Dibrugarh constituency, which was earlier dominated by Congress after Independence, has been a strong bastion of BJP since 2006.

“If you think I have not worked for Dibrugarh during the last 15 years, I appealed to the voters to not vote for me and if I have worked then please cast your vote in favour of me. I have a good relationship with everyone in Dibrugarh and the people of my constituency have showered love on me in the last 15 years,” he said.

“When I was elected as the MLA of Dibrugarh for the first time in 2006, I had to start from the beginning because the previous legislator of Dibrugarh had done nothing for Dibrugarh. Today, 99 per cent of Dibrugarh roads have been constructed and 70 per cent of the drainage works have been completed,” Phukan claimed.

In 2016, Phukan defeated Congress candidate Chandrakanta Baruah by a margin of 27,374 votes.

Avik Chakraborty

Avik Chakraborty is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dibrugarh. He can be reached at: