Resentment is brewing among the BJP leaders and workers in Raha constituency against the allocation of the Raha seat to AGP candidate for the upcoming Assam Assembly elections.

The BJP workers and leaders of the constituency have opposed the candidature of Bishnu Das of AGP, a resident of Jaluguti in Morigaon district and asked the party top brass not to leave the Raha seat to the AGP.

During a protest rally of BJP workers and leaders at Raha on Friday, they opposed AGP’s candidature saying that the party leadership had committed a mistake by giving the seat to AGP.

BJP Raha Mandal Committee president Chandra Kanta Das while taking part in the protest said, “We have been working hard since months to elect the BJP nominee from the constituency and our efforts have now gone in vain.”

BJP grassroot-level workers vehemently opposed AGP’s candidature from the Raha constituency.

The BJP on Friday released its first list of 70 candidates for the assembly polls and announced that allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People’s Party Liberal will contest on 26 and eight seats respectively.

The saffron party has decided to give two seats–Raha and Chabua– to AGP, which was won by the BJP in 2016.

The three-phase Assam assembly polls will be held on 27 March, 1 and April 6.

In the first phase, 47 constituencies will go to polls, in the second phase, polling will be held in 39 constituencies and in the third phase, polling will be held in 40 constituencies.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: