Rongbong Terang Integration Award
Publisher of Chingthur Publication, Bisojyoti Hazarika addressing a press conference announcing the sward at Diphu Press Club on Tuesday. Image credit – Northeast Now

Former Asom Sahitya Sabha president and noted litterateur Dr. Nagen Saikia has been nominated for the 4th Rongbong Terang Integration Award.

Dr Nagen Saikia is a retired professor of the Assamese department at Dibrugarh University and a former parliamentarian.

The award will be presented to the noted writer on January 12 at Bakalia HS School premises.

The award was instituted by the publisher of Chingthur Publication, Bisojyoti Hazarika, in the name of the former Asom Sahitya Sabha president, Padmashree Rongbong Terang.

In a press conference at the District Press Club of Karbi Anglong, Hazarika said Chingthur Publication, Bakalia constituted award for promoting national integration, peace and brotherhood among all sections of the people.

The award includes a cash component, a Karbi traditional turban and jacket, xaraai and a citation.

The first recipient of the award was noted folklorist, litterateur and former Asom Sahitya Sabha president Birendra Nath Dutta.

Then it was conferred to noted Assamese litterateur and Yeshe Dorjee Thongchi.

Thongchi was a top bureaucrat of the Arunachal Pradesh government.

The third Rongbong Terang Integration Award was conferred on renowned journalist, litterateur and former Asom Sahitya Sabha president Homen Borgohain.

Hazarika informed that in the previous years, the award was given on January 13 which falls on the birthday of Padmashree Rongbong Terang, but as Bhogali Bihu falls on the same date this year, so the award will be presented on January 12.

The Assam Poetry Society will also bring out a poem on the life of Terang.

Rongbong Terang Integration Award Selection Committee, member and journalist Sonju Borah was also in the press conference.

Nongee Terang

Nongee Terang is Northeast Now Correspondent in Diphu. He can be reached at: