Abahan Theatre producer Krishna Roy being presented mobile theatre award. (File image)

In a first, the Asom Sahitya Sabha (ASS) has introduced mobile theatre awards to honour the actors and other artistes of the mobile theatre world.

Addressing a press meet at Bhagawati Prasad Barua Bhavan here on Friday, Sabha president Parmananda Rajbangshi said that the literary body will hold a mobile theatre award ceremony for the first time in the state.

The award ceremony will be held on Sunday from 12 pm at Nalbari Natya Mandir.

Krishna Roy, producer of noted mobile theatre group, Awahan Theatre, will be presented with Lifetime Achievement award for his remarkable contribution to mobile theatre.

The state’s apex literary body will also award some new faces of mobile theatre for the year 2018-19.

The organization will honour theatre artistes in three categories–best actor, best actress and best drama group.

“Over 7 lakh Assamese mobile theatre plays have been lost in the passage of time,” Rajbangshi said.

He said that steps should be taken to preserve the mobile theatre plays of the state.

“The mobile theatre plays can be preserved by recording them in a written format,” Rajbangshi added.

The president of ASS further said that the organization has taken the step of honouring mobile theatre personalities in order to recognise their works as well as preserve the art form.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.