Teachers day

The Kiiling Kanggeng Society (KKS), a clan organization of Adi tribe of Arunachal Pradesh on Sunday honoured teachers with cash awards on the occasion of Teachers Day.

Kiiling Kanggeng Society organised the ‘Best Teacher’s Award ceremony 2021’ at Pasighat town and felicitated selected three best teachers at Primary, Secondary and Senior Secondary levels with cash awards.

The programme coincided with Teachers Day on account of the 133rd birth anniversary of Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan on Sunday.

Also read: 10,323 teachers observe ‘Black Day’ on Teachers Day at Agartala

The award ceremony was graced by Arunachal MLA (Pasighat-East) Kaling Moyong, the state’s Deputy Director (Secondary Education) Jongge Yirang, Pasighat ADC Tatdo Borang, East Siang Superintendent of Police SK Jha (IAS) and many other dignitaries.

Representatives of Adi Baane Kebang (apex body)) and other Adi clan organizations.

Speaking at the award ceremony, ADC Borang said education is the root of all types of human resource development and no social reform can be expected without education.

Stating that society or social organizations are formed to achieve social welfare activities, ADC Borang urged the organizers to move forward with their efforts ignoring all odds.

MLA Kaling Moyong, who is also an active member, said the KKS is taking up time-bound steps to encourage the teachers as well as the students through due honour.

He has appreciated the untiring efforts of the awardee teachers during the tough time of the Coronavirus pandemic.

Assuring all possible cooperation to the organizers, MLA Moyng urged them to keep up their efforts and guide the growing youths to go the right way.

Pasighat DDSE Oduk Tabin said the award would encourage dedicated teachers to work hard.

He stressed on broad publicity of such encouraging efforts through the mainstream media.

Among others, ABK (Apex) vice president Omir Tatin urged the teachers to maintain the ‘teacher-pupil relashionship’ while SP Jha appealed to the teachers to work hard to create human resources to serve the nation.

It was the first-ever ceremonial function for giving awards to dedicated teachers.

The society’s organizing secretary Dr Tamin Payum informed that they will conduct more such programmes to honour teachers and meritorious students as well taking suitable time and opportunity.

The organizers on the occasion have hounoured three selected best teachers at the Primary, Secondary and Senior Secondary levels.

Teachers Jayon Tayeng (Primary) of Sigar, Tamer Tamuk (Secondary) of Rani and Tator Taloh (Senior Secondary) of D’ Ering Memorial HSS, Pasighat were given cash awards worth Rs 10,000 each along with citation certificate and mementos in recognition of their selfless services.

Among others, KKS president Tagom Padung, organizing president John Apum and awardee teachers also spoke on the occasion.

The Kiliing Kanngeng Society is named after a ‘place of origin’ situated at Karko-belt in Upper Siang district of Arunachal near Indo-China border.

The society includes at least 19 clans of Adi and Mising tribes mainly living in Siang and Dibang Valley and also in neighbouring Assam.

Prafulla Kaman

Prafulla Kaman is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dhemaji. He can be reached at: pkradio16@gmail.com