The Rajya Sabha (RS) has passed the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order (Amendment) Bill, 2021 on Thursday. 

The Bill seeks amendment to the constitutional list of Scheduled Tribes as recommended by Arunachal Pradesh. 

The Bill was passed in the Rajya Sabha by voice vote, amid uproar by the opposition parliamentarians over issues like the Pegasus row, farm laws among others. 

On the basis of recommendations of the state of Arunachal Pradesh, the bill provides for modifying Part-XVIII of the Schedule to the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950, relating to state of Arunachal Pradesh. 

Also read: Assam: Free ‘A slice of Gahoree’ for Olympic medalist Lovlina Borgohain for five years

It provides for deletion of ‘Abor’ (tribe) in serial No. 1, as it is the same as ‘Adi’ in serial No. 16. 

Secondly, it proposed to replace ‘Tai Khamti’ instead of ‘Khampti’ at serial No. 6 of the list. 

It also provides for inclusion of ‘Mishmi-Kaman (Miju Mishmi)’, ‘Idu (Mishmi)’ and ‘Taraon (Digaru Mishmi)’ in serial No. 8 in lieu of ‘Mishmi, Idu, Taroan’ in the list. 

It provides for inclusion of ‘Monpa’, ‘Memba’, ‘Sartang’, ‘Sajolang (Miji)’ in serial No. 9 in lieu of ‘Momba’ in the list. 

It also provides for inclusion of ‘Nocte’, ‘Tangsa’, ‘Tutsa’, ‘Wancho’ in lieu of ‘Any Naga Tribes’ in serial No. 10 of the list. 


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: