The union home ministry has extended the “disturbed area” tag under AFSPA (Armed Forces Special Powers Act) for three districts in Arunachal Pradesh. 

“Disturbed area” tag has been extended for the three districts of Tirap, Changlang and Longding in Arunachal Pradesh bordering Assam. 

The “disturbed area” tag has been extended in these three districts of Arunachal Pradesh for a period of six months. 

“…Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts in Arunachal Pradesh and the areas falling within the jurisdiction of Namsai and Mahadevpur police stations in Namsai district of Arunachal Pradesh, bordering the state of Assam, are declared as ‘disturbed area’ under Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 from 01.10.2021 to 31.03.2022 unless withdrawn earlier,” an MHA notification said.  

Also read: Assam Congress serves show cause notice to party MLA Sherman Ali for acting as ‘BJP agent’


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: