Assam Rifles team

The Assam Rifles Archery team emerged as champion in the 8th All India Police Archery Championship at Siliguri.

A total of 21 teams from the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs) and State Police Forces participated in the competition.

The Assam Rifles Archery Team comprising 12 men and six women archers took part in the Indian, Recurve and Compound events of Men and Women categories.

The Assam Rifles Archery Team competed in both men’s and women’s Indian, Recurve and Compound events and sealed the winner’s title with a total haul of five gold, six silver and two bronze medals.

It was for the consecutive second time that the Assam Rifles Archery Team achieved the podium finish in the Championship.

In the Recurve Division, the Assam Rifle Archery Team clinched one Gold medal and N Subhachandra Meitei won two individual silver medals.

In addition, Zhokhoto Demo and Rfn (Mahila) Sapna Kumari begged one gold medal in mixed team events.

Zhokhoto Demo has been adjudged best archer of the tournament in men’s category.

In Indian Round individual events, Zhokhoto Demo won three gold medals and P Heroba Singh won three silver and one bronze medals.

In men’s Indian Round, the team won one silver medal and women team clinched one bronze medal.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: