Digital Transformation Award
Director Neelam Yapin Tana (left) and joint director Hano Takka (right) receiving the award in New Delhi. Image credit – Northeast Now

The e-Inner Line Permit (eILP) service, launched by the IT & Communications department of Arunachal Pradesh, has been conferred with ‘Digital Transformation Award-2019’.

The service was launched to ensure a hassle-free entry of domestic visitors to Arunachal.

IT&C director Neelam Yapin Tana and joint director Hano Takkaon received the award on behalf of the state government during the 3rd Digital Transformation Summit & Awards in New Delhi on Wednesday.

The service was conceptualized by the State Council for IT and e-Governance and developed by Bohniman Systems Private Limited for the department of Information Technology.

The eILP is a feature-rich service which allows online submission of required documents, photograph and payment by a visitor or group of visitors to enter/visit the state.

In August, the eILP was awarded with the ‘Outstanding Technology Project for Connecting the Unconnected Award’ by Indian Express Group.

It was also honoured with the SKOCH Order-of-Merit Award by the Skoch Group in September, 2017.

Speaking on the occasion, Tana said the award would act as a huge motivation for the state’s IT department.

He said with the implementation of e-ILP, there has been huge increase in the number of tourists visiting the state thereby boosting the tourism scenario and opening up economy to newer and exciting possibilities.

The Inner Line Permit or ILP is an official travel document issued by the government to allow inward travel of an Indian citizen into a protected/restricted area for a limited period.

Besides Arunachal Pradesh, the permit system, which is in force in Nagaland as well as Mizoram, is an offshoot of the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation, 1873.

It is compulsory for Indian citizens, not residents of those states, to obtain the permit for entering the restricted areas in the respective states.


Damien Lepcha is Northeast Now Correspondent in Arunachal Pradesh. He can be reached at: