Rajya Sabha election
Representative photo.

Elections to the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Arunachal Pradesh will be held on June 19.

This was informed by state joint chief electoral officer DJ Bhattacharjee on Tuesday.

Bhattacharjee said June 9 has been fixed as the last date of filing nomination papers and the scrutiny will be held on June 10.

He also said June 12 has been fixed as the last date of withdrawal of nomination papers while the election process will be completed by June 22.

The polling will be held in the State Legislative Assembly from 9 am to 4 pm, the notification from Bhattacharjee said.

State Legislative Assembly secretary K Habung has been appointed as the returning officer by the Election Commissioner while Assembly joint secretary Agaab Mossang has been appointed as the assistant returning officer.

Mukut Mithi of the Congress is the incumbent Rajya Sabha MP from the state and his term would end on June 23.

Besides Arunachal Pradesh, Rajya Sabha polls for a total of five seats would also be held in Karnataka and Mizoram on June 19.


Damien Lepcha is Northeast Now Correspondent in Arunachal Pradesh. He can be reached at: lepcharaul@gmail.com