Image: Northeast Now

Arunachal Pradesh chief secretary Naresh Kumar on Thursday chaired the 37th meeting of the State Level Screening Committee (SLSC) on Border Area Development Programme (BADP) at the Civil Secretariat in Itanagar.

Principal secretary A C Verma, senior officers concerned, deputy commissioners or their representatives, district planning officers, representative from ITBP, and others were present in the meeting.

Kumar asked the DCs to propose schemes that will have a strong and long-lasting impact on the villagers in the border areas.

He also directed them to select one village under border blocks from their districts to be developed as a model village under BADP.

Emphasizing on quality as well as timely completion of projects, the chief secretary directed the deputy commissioners concerned to personally visit the sites of the projects, especially those related to security and send reports every alternate month.

Schemes under BADP are being implemented in 12 districts in Arunachal Pradesh border China.

The DCs of these districts – Tawang, West Kameng, East Kameng, Upper Subansiri, Kurung Kumey, Kra Daadi, Shi- Yomi, Upper Siang, Dibang Valley, Lower Dibang Valley, and Anjaw – submitted their Annual Action Plan 2019-20.

The SLSC finalized and approved most of the schemes except for those in agriculture and allied sectors that will be taken up or merged with the schemes under the line departments of the State.

The SLSC also reviewed the status of VKV projects in Mukto (Tawang), Nafra (Khazallang, West Kameng), Boo (Anini, Dibang Valley) and others.

It further reviewed the latest status of the ongoing or completed projects under the BADP schemes in their districts.


Damien Lepcha is Northeast Now Correspondent in Arunachal Pradesh. He can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.