Independence Cup
The guests being introduced to the players. Image credit - Northeast Now

The much awaited 73rd edition of Independence Cup football tournament kicked off at Bordumsa general playground in Changlang district of Arunachal Pradesh on Saturday.

The incessant downpour failed to dampen the spirits of the participating teams.

The prize money tournament – an annual popular event in Arunachal Pradesh’s Changlang district – has been played on a knock-out format.

The tournament has been participated by 17 teams across three districts of Arunachal Pradesh – Changlang, Namsai and Lohit.

Newly-elected Independent MLA of Somlung Mossang constituency inaugurated the tournament in presence of dignitaries including Akash Das and the Captain of Bordumsa based 23 Punjab Regiment of Indian Army, Sikhetang Singpho.

Head gaon burha Pisilu Singpho and the president of Bordumsa Mahila Mandal were also present on the occasion.

“I have been sponsoring such events in Miao for the past 5 years and glad that the event holds significance among the sports fans here in Bordumsa too,” said Mossang in his speech as the chief guest.

“Games like football don’t only centre round win and defeat but it implies much beyond that,” he said.

“Games inculcate the social and ethical values and provide opportunities among the youths to capitalize their energies and potentials in them and channelise it in appropriate direction for individual and social causes,” he added.

Mossang has sponsored the event extending all the cash prizes in the tournament.

He assured his continuous support and urged the youths to shun habits of wine and drug addiction but focus on personality development which would subsequently lead to overall development of the society.

Singwa Singpho, the general secretary of the organizing committee, informed that the total prize of the tournament stands at Rs 2 lakh including Rs 1 lakh for the champion team and Rs 75,000 for the runners-up.

Further, the highest scorer, best player and best goalkeeper would carry Rs 5,000 each while the disciplined team would be awarded Rs,10,000.

Rutli Longkho, the sports secretary of the organizing committee, said that team Rajanagar FC locked horns with the team Bordumsa Police on the maiden day of the tournament wherein the latter defeated team Rajanagar FC by 2-0.

Laxman Sharma

Laxman Sharma is Northeast Now Correspondent in Digboi. He can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.