Eight Meghalya MLAs including five rebel Congress legislators will join the National Peoples’ Party (NPP) on January 4 at a public rally to be held at the Polo Grounds.

WR Kharlukhi, NPP President of Meghalaya confirmed that the five legislators will join the party at a public function on January 4. Two more independent MLAs and one UDP legislator will also join the party, he said.

The legislators who are likely to join NPP are Prestone Tynsong, Rowell Lyngdoh, Comingone Ymbon, Sniawbhalang Dhar and Ngaitlang Dhar (all Congress), UDP’s Remington Pyngrope, and independents Stephanson Mukhim and Hopeful Bamon.

The ruling Congress has been badly hit by the exodus of the legislators. Congress MLA from Mawsynram, P.N. Syiem has already resigned, and has joined the newly formed PDF.

Most of the Congress MLAs are not happy with Chief Minister Mukul Sangma and have accused him of being autocratic. None of the Congress MLAs were available for comments.

Kharlukhi said senior NPP leaders, including the national president, Conrad Sangma, will welcome the MLAs in the party. At present, the NPP has only two members in the 60-member Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: nenow24x7@gmail.com

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.