Representational image

Altogether 203 persons have filed 212 nominations to contest 40 Mizoram assembly seats. Seven political parties will fight it out in what can be termed as the most difficult-to-predict Mizoram polls.

Zoram Thar party, INC, Zoram People’s Movement, PRISM, Nationalist Congress Party and National People’s Party each has candidates filing nomination from two constituencies.

MPCC president Lal Thanhawla, ZPM chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma, NCP president Lalawmpuia Chhangte, NPP state convener Lianzuala, Zoramthar president Zaichhawna Hlawndo are among the candidates who have filed nominations for two constituencies.

Among the party presidents Zoramthanga is the only one to contest from single constituency.

“AEROs are working on the scrutiny today. If no objections are made and none of them withdraw by November 14, they will be declared as contesting official candidates,” Zorammuana, Jt. CEO of Mizoram said.

The two larger parties INC and the MNF have filed nomination from all the 40 constituencies, while the BJP has fielded candidates in 39 constituencies, Zoram People’s Movement will contest from 35 seats, Zoram Thar party in 24, PRISM in 14, NPP in nine constituencies and NCP will contest from six seats.

In Hachhek constituency in western Mizoram, the NGO coordination committee of the constituency has fielded one common candidate, J Lalsailova. Since no party has fielded Bru candidates in this Bru dominated constituency, it is likely that he might withdraw his candidature.

For a record number, 18 women have filed nominations for the coming Mizoram polls which include the present fishery department minister Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu, Chawngthu was elected from Hrangturzo constituency in the 2017 by-polls.

Sangzuala Hmar

Sangzuala Hmar is Northeast Now Correspondent in Aizawl. He can be reached at: sz.hmar@gmail.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.