The band members of Laisfita. Image credit - Rolling Stone India

Bangladesh‘s first all-women pop band Laisfita has been making waves with their music ever since they won the singing competition ‘Sunsilk Divas’.

The band includes four women – Sunanda Sharmin, Antora Rahman, Ferdousi Moumita and Mustarin Ahmed Sheetal.

The women, who had been selected as the top four performers of ‘Sunsilk Divas’ among a list of twenty finalists, recently released their debut song ‘Swapno Akhon Amar Haatey’.

The inspirational song has been composed by Bangladesh composer and singer Hridoy Khan, say reports.

Khan had been one of the judges of ‘Sunsilk Divas’.

The other judges include singers Sharmin Sultana Sumi, Alif Alauddin and Zohad Reza Chowdhury.

Sunsilk Divas was the first ever music talent hunt of Bangladesh that has been launched to form the first professional all-women pop band of the country.

The winners of the music competition were given a cash prize of  Tk 5 lakh, a two-year contract with Artist Spread, an opportunity to sing for a Bollywood film album, four Honda Dio bikes and Nokia smartphones.

The top twenty finalists of the music competition were selected from a list of audio submissions of aspiring singers.

The grand finale of Sunsilk Divas was held at International Convention Centre in Basundhara on April 29.

As per reports, the four winners had chosen their band name as Laisfita by taking reference from the hair ribbon worn by girls in rural Bangladesh.

They wanted to choose a name which represents their culture instead of choosing a name in an international language.

The ‘Laisfita’ band members have diverse musical backgrounds.

While Sunanda is passionate about singing international pop songs, Sheetal is well-versed in singing Bollywood and Bengali folk songs.

On the other hand , Moumita is a classical music expert and Antora is a talented Bengali folk singer.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.