In January 2020 banks will remain closed for 16 days, including all public holidays and the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has released the state-wise bank holidays list.

The holidays, however, may differ from bank to bank or from one state to another.

Banks will remain closed on Sundays and the second and fourth Saturdays of the month and the customers are advised to plan their bank-related accordingly.

Following is the bank holiday list for January 2020

January 1: All the banks across India will remain closed on account of New Year’s Day.

January 2: On account of Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti, banks will be closed in many states.

January 5: Sunday

January 7: Banks in Imphal will be closed due to Imoinu Iratpa celebrations

January 8: Banks in Imphal will be closed on account of Gaan-Ngai

January 11: Second Saturday

January 12: Sunday

January 14: Makar Sankranti

January 15: Uttarayaana Punyakaala Makara Sankranti Festival/Pongal/Magh Bihu and Tusu Puja

January 16: Banks in Chennai will be closed on account of Thiruvalluvar Day

January 17: Banks in Chennai will remain closed due to Uzhavar Thirunal celebrations.

January 19: Sunday

January 23: Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose birth anniversary, banks in Agartala and Kolkata will remain closed.

January 25: Fourth Saturday

January 26: Sunday

January 30: Saraswati Puja/Basanta Panchami

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: